Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

A Good-Finder August 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — songofjoy88 @ 9:54 pm

I had heard that teachers tend to talk negatively about students in the work room or at lunch, but I don’t think anything could have prepared me for this…

I was hoping yesterday was just a fluke- just a bad day for students and teachers alike- but it appears that that’s not the case.  In the past two days I have heard teachers refer to students as f***ers, b*******, f***ing retards and s*** heads.  Surprised?!?  I am too!  Shocked, appalled, disgusted- and so much more!

In most teacher-student interactions I’ve observed, it seems that teachers are actively trying to catch students doing something wrong so that they can call them out on it (using a not so quiet voice!).  Sometimes I almost get the impression that some teachers don’t want the students to succeed.

So, I have decided that I’m going to go against the flow (more like a tidal wave) of negative talk and attitude toward the students.  Instead, I’m going to be a good-finder.  I’m going to focus my efforts on catching students doing the right thing and overlook the minor incidences of inappropriate behavior (there are plenty!).  I’m confident that this will help me build rapport with students and avoid the tension of constant power struggles… we’ll see how this goes! 🙂

 

3 Responses to “A Good-Finder”

  1. Lexie Says:

    Carrie!

    Way to be positive!!! That’s a great way to look at this situation. I’m appalled at the terms they were using to describe the children too! That is so cruel. Be the light in the darkness for all those students, Carrie. You know that you have that ability in you! 🙂

  2. Kristen Says:

    Way to go against that wave, sis! The teachers kind of remind me of some of the staff in the program….sadly

  3. Jenny Says:

    I had some very good teachers who pretty much never talked negatively about the students. I think the worst I heard was that one of them said he wanted to give this one kid a swirly. I’m thankful that my school didn’t talk like that.


Leave a Reply

