Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

Day 1 August 25, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — songofjoy88 @ 1:26 am

So, it’s been awhile since I’ve had a blog (back in the xanga days!  haha!).  Figured now’s as good a time as ever since I’m student teaching 7th and 8th grade math this semester!!  whooo hooo!

Today was my first day and overall it went well!  I was up at 6am and had my visitor photo sticker tag (very high tech!) on my snazzy green shirt by 7:30am.  Most of the day I observed and walked around the room helping the students.  They’re a really great group of kids- a bit rambunctious, but they’re middle schoolers, so what else would you expect?!  Classroom management was certainly a central concern today.  However, I am hopeful because I am a firm believer that if students are engaged and interested in what they are learning, they will not act out as much.

After school, I stayed for a staff meeting that took over an hour… we left the school around 4:10pm.  Basically it was info about restructuring the school since it has not been doing well academically in recent years.

Then, we all (the 15 MU interns down here with me) had our service learning class.  Nothing too eventful- we got the syllabus… you know, just typical first day stuff.  I like the teacher and it doesn’t seem like the class will be too hard, which is great! 🙂

Now, it’s almost 9:30pm which means it’s time for me to start heading toward bed… this is definitely going to take some getting used to!  More to come… and I’ll try to come up with a more creative title next time! 😛

 

One Response to “Day 1”

  1. Jenny Says:

    Yea! Another blog to add to my Google Reader! Glad you’re excited about your student teaching!


Leave a Reply

