Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

I Can’t Punch Education October 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — songofjoy88 @ 10:15 pm

It’s funny the things you learn from 7th and 8th graders!!  I was talking with a student, Jason, about expressing frustration and whatnot.  To this he replied that he is “a fighter.”  I told him that he just needed to figure out what was worth fighting for- like a good education.  “I can’t punch education!” was Jason’s emphatic response.  Sometimes there’s nothing more I can say…

This week I’ve been working with small groups in a different classroom, apparently at the principal’s request.  It has gone well and I’m enjoying this extra time to build relationships with the kids.  Also this week students are taking the district-wide benchmark tests which they take each quarter to keep tabs on their progress.  This means that we have two classes each day.  So with the small groups and two classes a day, this week has been pretty low key… aside from my trip up to NW Ohio and Michigan for some orthodontist appointments (left Tuesday after school and returned Wednesday evening).

Apparently the 7th and 8th graders were awful when I was gone on Wednesday.  One of our academic aides said that they were the worst he’s ever seen them!  Yikes- maybe it’s a good thing I was gone.  Or maybe me not being there threw off the consistency that we had going.  In any case, the students were fine today.  As I was greeting the students this morning, two of the girls ran up to me to give me a hug. 🙂  I love those moments!  I definitely welcome this positive feedback!

 

Leave a Reply

