Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

Yes, No, Maybe May 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — songofjoy88 @ 5:26 pm
Tags: , , ,

Over the past few years, I think I’ve become more decisive… well, maybe… actually, make that definitely- at least for small-scale situations (like deciding what food to order at a restaurant).  However, with the whole job search process, I’ve realized how the magnitude of the consequences of a decision (whether they be positive or negative or some combination) can lead to hesitancy and tends to prolong my decision making process.  Even if I’m pretty certain that the opportunity I’m presented with is good, there are situations where saying “yes” to one opportunity means saying “no” to others that may or may not exist at that moment.

But I’m convinced that in many situations there is not one right decision to be made.  Yes, the decision of what circumstances to put ourselves into is important.  What school do we attend?  What job offer do we accept?  What friends do we hang out with?  Where do we live?  The way we answer these questions will undeniably shape our lives.  But, I think the more important decision to make is what attitude I choose to put on no matter the circumstance.  What will my perspective be when my life is going well?  What about when life unravels?

In Philippians 2:5-8, Paul tells the people that “Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: who… made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant… he humbled himself…”  If I had to use one word to describe the desired attitude it would be humility.  Looking at the prayer of King Solomon in 1 Kings 3, his words convey a posture of humility.  God has just told him to “ask for whatever you want me to give you” (v.5)  In response, Solomon acknowledges the Lord’s kindness and righteousness (v. 6) and admits his feelings of inadequacy for the job at hand, calling himself “a little child” (v.7).  Humbly recognizing God’s greatness and his own limitations, Solomon requests a discerning heart (v.9).  Solomon realizes that the only way he will be able to make good decisions in his position of leadership is if the Lord gives him discernment.

So, no matter my situation, I’m learning that a posture of humility will lead me to ask God for what I really need- wisdom and discernment.  This will lead me to make better decisions that glorify Him.  Also, in James 1:5, we read that “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all withour finding fault, and it will be given to him.”

 

Leave a Reply

