Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

Mmm mmmm, good! June 21, 2011

Filed under: Food — songofjoy88 @ 1:49 pm
Tags:

I’ve been out of school for less than 2 weeks, but have already been putting my kitchen to good use!  I thought I’d share some photos of my creations and some recipes in case you want to make them for yourself!  Enjoy! 🙂

A good friend of mine came over and we made an amazing (and easy) apple coffee cake.  We got the recipe from the best site ever: allrecipes.com.  Click here to check out the recipe!  We used jonagold apples and it turned out great!  I had to make it pretty before bringing it to church!  The frosting is simple: melted butter, milk, vanilla and powdered sugar.

Apple Coffee Cake!! yum!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I had some leftovers carrots from a veggie tray, I decided to use them to make homemade chicken noodle soup.  I had never made it before, but can you really get something like that wrong?  So, I picked some stuff up at the store and threw it in a pot.  I thought it was pretty good and I had a couple people over and they both finished their bowls, so I guess it’s a win!  This is how I made it:

1) Sautee onions (I like using the chopped frozen ones because they’re easy!).  Add unmeasured amount of chopped carrots and celery.

2) When the onions are starting to brown, add 1 can of chicken broth.

3) With your hands, shred up a “savory” flavor rotisserie chicken (had a coupon for that guy!) and add to the pot.  Add water as needed.

4) Chop fresh herbs: parsley, rosemary, sage, thyme.  You can use dry herbs too and wouldn’t have to use all of them. (had a coupon for fresh herbs too!)

5) Boil whole wheat egg noodles in a separate pot, as directed on bag.

6) Add noodles and herbs to soup.  Add water as needed.  Flavor with lemon juice, pepper and salt to taste.

Serving suggestions: Parmesan or Asiago cheese, sour cream

 

 

 

 

Next, it’s smoothie time!  I tossed a large handful of fresh raspberries, strawberries and blueberries into a plastic container and put it in the back of the freezer for an hour or two.  Then, I dumped them in the blender, added some yogurt, milk and a touch of vanilla and VROOOOM… pour, enjoy!  A fresh mixed berry ice-less smoothie!  YUM!

 

Today’s song is what my family used to sing before praying for a meal: “Mmm mmmm, good!  Mmm mmmm, good!  The food that God makes is mmm mmmm good!” 🙂

 

This is just the beginning, but I’ll save more photos and recipes for later… gotta keep you coming back! 😛

 

Leave a Reply

