Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

When the lights go out June 26, 2011

Filed under: Faith — songofjoy88 @ 10:00 pm
Tags: , , ,

As some of you may know, I’m doing some private math tutoring this summer.  This past week, I was at the library working with a student in a study/computer room upstairs next to some pretty big windows.  It was somewhat cloudy, but not at all stormy.  Out of nowhere, the power goes out in the entire library (and I later found out, it affected about two thirds of the town where I live for 3 hours!).  The people who had been in the same room piddling around on the computers were quite disappointed, as it didn’t seem power was coming back anytime soon.  But for us, the light streaming through the windows provided sufficient light and we were unfazed.  We were positioned in such a way that the sun provided light, allowing us to continue working (…until it got stuffy).

 

This got me thinking… what do I do when my power goes out, when my energy is drained?  Am I close enough to the sun (or, The Son) that I can still see and keep going?  Or do I give up?  Do I quit pressing on because somehow I sense a lack of guidance or clarity?

 

In Psalm 119:105, God’s word says: “Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.”  And read this wonderful promise from Isaiah 42:16 which says: “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.”

 

So, what about you?  What do you do when the lights go out in your life?  Where do you look for direction?  How do you expect to see what’s in front of you?  Who do you look for to illuminate your path and to strengthen you?  Have you tried looking to The Son?

 

And, I’ll close with an oldie but a goody from D.C. Talk… enjoy! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

