Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

We Must Go July 30, 2011

Filed under: Faith — songofjoy88 @ 10:26 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

In my everyday life, I don’t see hunger much.  Does that mean that hunger isn’t a problem in America, or that there’s a problem with my everyday life?  Consider these facts* and decide for yourself:

  • 14.6% of U.S. households struggle to put enough food on the table. More than 49 million Americans—including 16.7 million children—live in these households.
  • Nearly one in four children is at risk of hunger. Among African-Americans and Latinos, one in three children is at risk of hunger.
  • Most Americans (51.4 percent) will live in poverty at some point before age 65.

 

And this is just in America!!  (look for info about world hunger in a future post)  While I may not want to admit it, it looks like I need to make some changes to my everyday life.  In a parable recorded in Matthew 25, Jesus says, “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world.  For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in…whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.”

 

As you read the rest of the post, listen to this song called “God of Justice” by Tim Hughes:

 

As God is gently bringing these things to the surface, he is restructuring “my” everyday life.  (When did I get the idea that my life belonged to me anyway? Check out Luke 9:23).  The past two Wednesdays I’ve headed to the inner city to serve at a choice food pantry.  Through the course of the morning, about one hundred people/families choose groceries from our shelves to carry home- enough to eat, at least for now.  We’ve had to fill out paperwork where we record how many seniors, adults and children live in the household.  It amazes me and angers me how many single mothers there are!  Where are the men?  Where are the dads??!  Issues of broken families and generational poverty that I’ve wrestled with before are resurfacing and through the roar of chaos, I hear God’s gentle voice calling me to go – To dive into the mess, into the darkness, shining as a beacon of light that comes from the hope and love and grace that my God has shown me.

 

There’s so much more I could write, but I’ll leave you with one question.  Where is God calling you to go?

*All facts are from www.bread.org.  You may also be interested in checking out www.stopthehunger.com.

 

Leave a Reply

