Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

Jesus, Priceless Treasure August 11, 2011

Filed under: Faith — songofjoy88 @ 12:59 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Last night, we had worship night for my community group at church.  It was a good time… I even played bassoon for a couple songs. 🙂  During the quiet reflection time, I flipped to a random hymn called “Jesus, Priceless Treasure” by Johann Franck.  Here are the lyrics:

 

Jesus, priceless treasure; Source of purest pleasure, Truest friend to me:

Long my heart hath panted, Till it well-nigh fainted, Thirsting after thee. 

Thine I am, O spotless Lamb,

I will suffer nought to hide thee, Ask for nought beside thee.

 

In thine arm I rest me; Foes who would molest me Cannot reach me here. 

Though the earth be shaking, Ev’ry heart be quaking, God dispels our fear. 

Sin and hell in conflict fell

With their heaviest storm assail us; Jesus will not fail us.

 

Hence, all thoughts of sadness!  For the Lord of gladness, Jesus, enters in. 

Those who love the Father, Though the storm may gather, Still have peace within.

Yea, whate’er we must here bear,

Still in thee lies purest pleasure, Jesus priceless treasure.

 

The words of this hymn written over 300 years ago stirred me up.  Do I really view Jesus as a priceless treasure, source of purest pleasure, and my very best friend?  Maybe one of those… on a good day!  I am challenged by the writer’s longing for God, his surrender, and his contentment with God alone.  I focused in on the last 5 words of the second verse: “Jesus will not fail us.”  What a great comfort to know that in the chaos of life, He is constant and He cares for us… a lot!  I love the way the 3rd verse exhorts me to look to the God of my circumstances instead of making my circumstances a god.  Jesus, alone, is worthy to be valued above all else, whether our current situation is great or miserable.  True peace does not come from what may be happening in our life; peace comes from the One who has promised to never leave you on this adventure called life.

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.   John 14:27

 

Leave a Reply

