Walking in Freedom

Miscellaneous musings along the way

My favorite word October 31, 2011

Filed under: Faith — songofjoy88 @ 8:15 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

During my prep period today, my student helper- I’ll call her Laura- asked me what my favorite word was.  I thought for a second and told her that I don’t think I have a favorite word.

 

Laura proceeded to tell me that her favorite word was antidisestablishmentarianism.  This caused to me consider what the criteria for a a favorite word should be- does it have to sound cool?  or is it the meaning that matters more?  I guess if it’s my favorite word, I get to decide.

 

So, as I was reading What’s So Amazing About Grace? by Philp Yancey, I realized that if I had to choose a favorite word it would be (drumroll please…) forgiveness.  This word embodies the character of Christ- His great act of love and forgiveness on our behalf and his commission for us to live a forgiveness lifestyle. 

 

I really like how Paul puts it in Colossians 2:13-15-  “And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross.  He disarmed the rulers and authorities and put them to open shame, by triumphing over them in him.”  -WOW!  Praise God!

 

In Yancey’s book he contrasts grace with ungrace and also contrasts forgiveness with revenge.  He writes that “Revenge… never settles the score.”  And he quotes the words of theologian Romano Guardini: “As long as you are tangled in wrong and revenge, blow and counterblow, aggression and defense, you will be constantly drawn into fresh wrong… Only forgiveness frees us from the injustice of others.”

 

So, that’s my favorite word- forgiveness… with grace as a close second. 🙂

 

What’s your favorite word??

 

 

 

One Response to “My favorite word”

  1. sandrabranum Says:

    Like you, I never really thought about a favorite word. When I was younger it was “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious”, but eventually I outgrew it. I think if I had to choose a word now, it would be “Hope”. The word is pretty selfexplanatory and definitely selfserving for us all and The World.


Leave a Reply

